Fire Official / Home Inspections
856-779-9610 ext. 179 *NEW phone # and extension as of May 17, 2021
SALE OF A HOME OR RENTAL INSPECTIONS:
An inspection is required by the State of New Jersey for a Certificate of Compliance for smoke and carbon monoxide detectors by the Township Fire Official.
Please contact the Fire Official at (856) 779-9610 ext. 179 or email@example.com.
NOTE: At this time, when a home is sold or rented, the construction office does NOT perform a new Certificate of Occupancy (CO) inspection.
PERMITS THAT HAVE BEEN ISSUED:
To obtain information regarding prior permits that have been issued for a property, a “request for public information” (Open Public Records Act – OPRA) form must be completed and submitted to the Township Clerk office.
The Property Maintenance ordinance for the Township is Chapter 152. https://ecode360.com/MA0445
Click HERE for a printable version of the information below
Maple Shade Fire Department
Office of the Fire Official
The New Jersey Fire Code requires that whenever a home is being sold, or a rental unit changes occupant, that a Certificate of Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detector Compliance be obtained from the local fire code enforcing agency, which in Maple Shade is the Maple Shade Fire Official.
The following requirements must be met before a certificate can be issued:
- If battery powered, they must be 10-year sealed lithium battery units.
- Cannot be older than 10 years from the manufacturer date.
- Must be present on each level of the premises.
- Must be present outside each sleeping area.
- If AC powered smoke alarms were installed in the premises, they must be operational on AC power with battery backup and cannot be replaced by battery operated units.
CARBON MONOXIDE ALARMS
- Must be installed if fuel burning devices are present in the premises or if there is an attached garage.
- Must be present in the immediate vicinity of all sleeping areas.
- May be battery operated, hard wired, or plugged in and must be listed in accordance with UL 2034.
PORTABLE FIRE EXTINGUISHER
- Must be installed within 10-feet of the kitchen and in the path of egress.
- Must have a minimum rating of 2A-10B:C and weigh no more than 10-pounds.
- The extinguisher must be readily accessible and not obstructed from view.
- Must be mounted using the manufacturers hanging bracket.
- The top of the extinguisher cannot be greater than 5-feet above the floor.
- Operating instructions must be clearly visible.
- The owner’s manual or written operation instructions must be present during the inspection and left for the new occupant.
- The extinguisher must have an inspection tag from a New Jersey Division of Fire Safety certified contractor within the past 12 months or a receipt for the purchase not more than 12 months old.
Please contact the Office of the Fire Official at 856-779-9610 ext. 179 or via email at firstname.lastname@example.org to schedule an appointment